New Jersey

For the most up to date information on the State of New Jersey Regulations of Zip Lines and Zip Tours - please call our office at (877) 206-8967 or the state department listed below:

Supervisor of Enforcement Carnival - Amusement Ride Safety Unit
Bur. of Code Services, Div. Of Codes & Standards
New Jersey Department of Community Affairs
PO Box 808
101 South Broad Street
Trenton, NJ 08625-0808

TELEPHONE: (609) 292-2097
FAX: (609) 984-7084

STATUTE: Carnival and Amusement Rides Safety Act (New Jersey Statutes 5:3-31 et seq.) and Carnival- Amusement Rides Regulations (New Jersey Administrative Code Title 5, Chapter 14) with substantive amendments effective March 6, 2000.

PERMITS AND LICENSES: Each ride, mobile or fixed -site, requires an annual permit and Certificate of Insurance ($100,000). Nondestructive testing plan, ride operations and maintenance manuals must be filed with State prior to issuance of permit. Permit Fees: $100 Kiddie ride; $200 Major ride; $300 Super ride.

INSPECTION: Full safety inspections by State inspector required prior to season; carnivals must submit itinerary in advance; mobile rides inspected after set-up at each location; all rides also subject to random inspection throughout Season.

The State of New Jersey inspectors will be performing a paper inspection only and will not be climbing up onto your zip line. The items they will primarily concern themselves with will be:

  • Engineering Plans and Drawings
  • Operations Manual
  • Inspection Records and Logs - to be performed by Qualified 3rd Party Inspector
  • Staff Training Records and Certficates.

The State of New Jersey will not climb onto your zip line and inspect the structure, cable tension, terminations, deck supports, fasteners, staircases, etc. Having a state inspection is a duty to demponstrate to the state that you are in compliance with the law and that is it. You must hire a 3rd party inspector to perform a hands on inspection of your zip line in the State of New Jersey.